Hell raisin’ heat of summer

Will someone please tell me why I thought it was a good idea to train for a half marathon in the heat of the summer? Through the week, I can only run after work at 5 p.m., which is still pretty hot and humid in good ole Kentucky. Granted, I know other parts of the country are hotter than Owensboro, but since this is where I am, I’m saying it’s pretty brutal.

The good thing is, I have three upcoming races to keep me pretty motivated — a 5k in July, half marathon in September and a 10-miler in October (that may or not be two weeks after my half. Whoops).

Here’s a recap of last week’s fitness.

Monday – 3 miles

Tuesday – MH60 Fat Frying Fury dvd

Wednesday – 3 miles

Thursday – MH60 Total Body Typhoon dvd (this killed my legs)

Friday – Rest

Saturday – 3 miles (that was supposed to be 4, but a late start and the heat caused me to cut it short)

Sunday – Rest

Half marathon training officially starts today!

Leave a Reply

