My running story

Okay y’all. Here goes nothing. My running story.

xc west.jpg

I grew up an athlete — a soccer player. I was always “a little overweight,” but I usually felt strong in my athlete’s body. I dabbled in basketball and dance but soccer was my first true love. From pre-k to college intramurals, soccer was my thing. I’ve played every position, but loved being goalie.

But my (temporary) break up with soccer came in high school after a new coach, a disagreement and lots of tears. Walking away from sport that defined me was a hard thing to do.

One of the first things I did after quitting the team, was call my track coach. He had always joked that if I ever quit soccer he would take me in on the cross country team. I thought he was just being nice, but I figured it was worth a shot. I had been on a team my whole life and I wasn’t ready to give that up. At the time, I didn’t know it was a phone call that would change my life. He said he wanted me to run and he and the girls took me in without hesitation.

I was slow. Oh goodness, was I slow. I was always in the back of the pack, but I always ran (albeit slow sometimes, but I never walked). While the other girls ran 3-4 miles on easy days, I would have to turn around a little early, so we all could all get back to school at the same time.

But every week I got faster. Every week I got stronger.
xc 2009

My love for running came with me to college. I bonded with people in my dorm by asking them to run with me. I learned my way around campus by way of my running shoes. I even found a few local 5ks to complete. By my junior year, I had finished my first half marathon. During my senior year of college I completed by second.

bbq 5k.jpg

Now, two years post-grad, I’m furthering my love for running. I’m currently training for my third half marathon and I’m learning more about healthy eating and living. I am so excited for this life-long journey. Thanks for joining me 🙂

2 thoughts on “My running story

  1. Pingback: Global Running Day | MILES WITH MEGHANN

Leave a Reply

