Virtual Coffee Date

Hi friends. Let’s chat. Imagine we’re sitting together at Starbucks catching up on life. What would you say? What’s weighing on your heart? Get your favorite drink, take a seat, relax and let’s get real.

photo-1468418143278-41595b1a4c89.jpeg

Do you ever have those days where you feel as though you’re not “enough”? Because I sure do. I feel like I’m balancing so many plates — being a working professional, wife, homemaker, puppy mom, runner, friend and daughter — and any second, one (or more) them are just going to come toppling down. I don’t want to feel like a failure (who does?) but sometimes I have to learn when to say no. I’m learning what and who is important in my life, and friends, that’s a refreshing feeling.

Why are we so proud to be busy? We wear tiredness, long nights and overflowing to-do lists like a badge of honor. 

Ladies, I promise you this is not “it.” You are destined for so much more than the overwhelming feeling of not being enough. You are enough. I am enough. This idea of perfection will be never-ending race if you let it overcome you. So stop. Right now. Turn off social media, spend time with the people you love, doing what you love and recharge. It’ll be good for your heart.

So here are some things to remember when life gets a little too crazy.

• Progress, Not Perfection. I keep repeating this phrase to myself over and over in so many different aspects of life, but especially when it comes to running. Every day and every workout makes me stronger. Even if I’m not where I want to me, I’m making progress. That, my friends, is what’s important. GRACE, not perfection.

• Date your spouse. Intentionally set time alone for the two of you. It’ll make your marriage stronger. Even if it’s hard, you joined each other in life to help each other through it, not to be roommates who share a last name. I find myself always “needing” to tidy the house, wash a load of clothes, sweep the floors and so many other tasks that could put off one day in order to spend an evening on the couch with the one I love.

• Take some time for yourself. I know, I know. Easier said than done, right? But please, I encourage you to make time for yourself. Grab a coffee and open your Bible, go for a run by yourself, anything to recharge your heart and mind, so you can be a better worker, wife, friend, etc.

I hope this little virtual coffee date lights a fire into your soul and encourages you in some shape, form or fashion. We all need friends, so remember to be one to others. Community over competition. It’s okay to build each other up, nothing bad will happen. Promise.

Now I want to hear from you! What do you do to re-charge? Any tips for other women out there struggling with the fear of inadequacy?

Go out there and kick ass, ladies.

Leave a Reply

