My top 5 goal races

Since my budget and travel expenses and are pretty tight, most of my races stay pretty local to Owensboro/Murray/Evansville, Indiana. BUT if I ever get the chance to travel more for races, these five races are definitely on my running bucket list. Also, the half marathon is becoming my favorite distance to race and I so pumped to hopefully be adding a few more to my calendar this year.

Anyways, here are my top five goal races for the future.

1. DISNEY PRINCESS HALF MARATHON
DSC_7717
So I’ve have had friends who’ve completed RunDisney events (everything from 5k-marathon) and I would love to complete one too! The Princess Half is probably my dream race. I even have a few ideas of who I would dress up as — Minnie Mouse, Cinderella (both traditional favorites) Jessie from Toy Story or the Chesire Cat from Alice in Wonderland!

2. KENTUCKY DERBY MINI MARATHON
MarathonandMini.jpg
Since Kentucky is my home state, why do the biggest half marathon in the Bluegrass? I have always wanted to run this race since Lexington is one my favorite cities in the state. Every year for high school cross country we ran at the Kentucky Horse Park and I always remember it as being one of the prettiest courses. I would love to run Derby one day, hopefully sooner rather than later.

3. ROYAL PARKS FOUNDATION HALF
12088171_1052881451410229_8396222969194471877_n.jpg
photo via
While I would be happy with racing in any international race, I really want to race in London. The Royal Parks Foundation Half goes through central London and cover four of the city’s eight Royal Parks.

4. SEATTLE ROCK ‘n’ ROLL HALF MARATHON
rnr-seattle-logo.png
Seattle is one of those places I’ve never been to, but I feel like I would love it. I know a few people who live there and seeing all of their scenic pictures on Facebook make me super jealous. Plus, running by the Space Needle seems like a pretty cool sight to see.

5. BOSTON MARATHON

Bostonmarathonlogo.jpg
Isn’t the Boston Marathon on most runners dream board? I mean, I know it’s a long shot, but to just make that right on Hereford, left on Boylston, would be pretty spectacular. Besides it being a historical event in the racing community, it would mean I pretty fast (well, fast enough to complete a qualifying time). But for now, I will spend Marathon Monday spectating at home.

What are some of your dream races? Are there any races I should add to my list?

Leave a Reply

