Body Positive

Loving yourself. Something that sounds so simple, isn’t always that easy, is it?

Through the years, I have loved and hated my body. I was never skinny growing up, yet I was always involved in sports, so I never considered myself unhealthy. Even in high school when I ran cross country, I worked at McDonald’s (and got all the free french fries I wanted), I still thought was I average + a few extra pounds. But when it came down to it, I was never really happy with myself. Fast forward to post-college and married life and I am finally in a place where I am starting to love my body — flaws and all.

I’ve learned to buy clothes that fit MY shape, regardless of size. Sometimes I’m a 6, sometimes I’m a 12. But if those pants make my butt look good, you bet I’m going to buy them.

4877b288f6f88ca914fb9df3ec3829a4.jpg
My legs have carried me through hundreds of training runs, countless 5ks and two half marathons. They have walked through a college campus, filled with the unknown and walked down the aisle to marry the love of my life.

I wouldn’t trade any of the things my legs have gone through, for skinny, perfect legs. Mine are pretty great — just the way they are.
img_0807

My arms lift loads of laundry and give countless hugs. They shake while doing pushups and they reach toward the sky while doing yoga.
austinramsey_wedding-photo107.jpg

My body is just way God designed it. He made every piece of me and I should be proud of it.

Your worth is not measured by the size of your waist, but by the size of your heart and the extent in which you use your brain. I think it’s better to smart and kind than to be a size 0. Imagine if we obsessed over the things we love about ourselves the way we obsess over the things we dislike? Or if we became infatuated with the world and not our looks. We could do great things.

It’s taken a long time for me to love my myself. I think it’s a journey that start overs every single day. I encourage you all to think positively about yourself and your body. You’re meant for great things.

ab11426849dd677ef18d981337335234

Leave a Reply

