Work, run, eat, repeat

Does anyone else think this is their life? Work, run, eat, repeat. I love it, but sometimes it’s nice to change things up a bit.

I read this post yesterday by MilePosts and it really hit home with me. I struggle (like many of you do) with judging myself, my fitness and my overall worth based on silly things like how fast I can run a mile (or 10 miles).

img_0327

My favorite line is, “Why is it that when we look down at our watches we allow the time on them to dictate how we feel about the run and ourselves? You are MORE than what the watch says. If you need to run slower, it doesn’t change who you are as a person.”

MONDAY
Even for a Monday, my week started off pretty good. I always try and think positively and start each day thinking, “today will be great because XXX”

So break up the monotony of Monday, I picked up my mom on her lunch break and we went to our favorite Mexican restaurant for lunch.

After a quick afternoon back at the office, (I swear the hours after lunch seemed to fly by yesterday) I met up with a friend for a quick three miles to shake our legs out.

TUESDAY
Holy deadlines. Yesterday was crazy. Being in the newspaper biz, my work life revolves around meeting deadlines. Daily. I knew yesterday was going to be crazy, so I started my day off with lots of coffee and quiet time on my back deck.

img_1057

Work seemed to fly by until lunch. Lunch is obviously my favorite part of the work day because A: food B: I get to see/play with Murphy and C: Ryan and I get to eat together 99% of the time. Even though we work less than 100 feet away from each other we don’t get to see/talk to each other very much during work (I mean, duh, we’re busy people. haha). I know how lucky I am to be able to eat with him every day and it’s something I try not to take for granted.

A few more hours after lunch included meetings, some data entry, interviewing people for a new special publication and tying up the daily loose ends.

With the heat advisory out until dusk, I decided to head home after work and do chores around the house (I swear the cleaning and cooking never end). Anyone else feel that way?

I can’t wait to get back on the road tomorrow! #longrun

photo-1415695820592-2caf0793db21

Other random tidbits:
• Ryan’s dad gave us knock-off Yeti tumblers and they are awesome. Ice stayed in mine all day yesterday, even after sitting in my car during my run. A+
• I’ve recently started adding actual peanuts to my pb&js and it is awesome. Seriously give it a try. As a peanut butter lover, I love that the taste is richer and the extra crunch is fun too.
• I think I’m officially a yogi. I’ve been doing yoga a few nights every week and it seems to help me so much — I’m calmer, feel better and so much loose and stretched out. It’s also been great for my core and back. I love it.

photo-1447452001602-7090c7ab2db3.jpeg

Leave a Reply

