When a race gets cancelled

10 weeks into half marathon training and my race gets cancelled. NOT COOL.

Screen Shot 2016-08-31 at 8.33.58 AM.png

Unlike a lot of running bloggers I follow, I don’t live in a big city where literally thousands of people sign up for road races. I would say anywhere from 75-150 participants is a good number for Owensboro races.

The biggest thing that makes me mad is I found out the race was cancelled because I’m a part of a local running Facebook group. Owensboro Parks & Rec (the ones who are sponsoring it) had NOTHING on their FB page or website. I had to call them to make sure it was true. They said they cancelled the race due to “lack of participation.”

So while I know my training wasn’t a waste, it’s a bummer to not run this race, which I’ve been looking forward to for months. The only good thing is this gives me more time to train and work on getting my time down — I’m still wanting that sub-2 half.

image1 (3)

So now the search for my next race begins, the next closest half is an hour away and on the week I’m out of town. Other than that, I don’t know of a half marathon until April and it’s two hours away.

I didn’t want this post to seem like a pity party for myself, but it sucks that my race got cancelled. I’ve been training my butt off all summer and was so excited to be racing again. I know there are so many other real problems in the world, that this doesn’t even compare.

The good news is I’m in pretty great shape and will only continue to work harder until the next race pops up on my calendar.

bbq 5k

3 thoughts on “When a race gets cancelled

  1. Pingback: Contemplating running a marathon | MILES WITH MEGHANN

Leave a Reply

