Virtual Coffee Date & Running

Hi friends! Welcome to my second virtual coffee date. I like to do these every now and then as sort of a brain dump in my little corner of the Internet. So sit down, grab a latte and lets chat about life.

photo-1468418143278-41595b1a4c89

You know what sucks? Being in a running funk — and wanting to get out!

Running is something that brings me great joy and yet, every now and then, I feel like I get burnt out. After my race being cancelled, getting sick for a week and only running twice on vacation, it’s like my fire to run has dwindled. I’m stoking the flames to keep the fire alive, but it’s definitely not burning bright.

& I hate it.

I feel like running is a part of my identity. It’s part of who I am. It makes me happy and feel good about mind, body and overall self.

Yet why is it the first thing that gets put on the back burner when life gets crazy? I don’t have a gym membership (expensive) or a treadmill (even more expensive) and with the seasons changing, it’s dark when I wake up and when I get off from work.

I KNOW I have it easy compared to working mamas, people with more than one job (been there, done that!), but now that I’m settled into my job married and an “adult” I thought I would have a better grip on everything.

HA! Wrong. Do we really ever have it all together? I don’t think so. & I think that’s part of the beauty of life. We’re always growing, changing.

183112-so-it-turns-out-being-an-adult-is-mostly-just-googling-stuff
So if you’re feeling lost or overwhelmed, I promise you’re not the only one. I know in reality, my problems are nothing compared to those of the world.

Keeping that in mind, please say a prayer for Haiti and all other people and places that have been/will be affected by Hurricane Matthew. 

Leave a Reply

