Runiversary

My runiversary was a few weeks ago I missed it!

img_0807

While I had always been an active kid, I definitely had a few extra pounds that I could afford to get rid of. So to stay in shape through the winter (and to be ready for spring soccer) I decided to join the track team at my high school my sophomore year.

It was the week before Thanksgiving break and we had our first practice. A timed mile to see where our fitness was at.

It was cold. Oh my gosh was it cold. I remember my goal was not to walk. I mean how hard could a mile be for someone who was “relatively in shape?” Well friends, let me tell you, IT WAS HARD. I was by far the slowest on our small team of 10.

But you know what? NO ONE CARED. They all supported me. Encouraged me to do and be my best. So I stuck with these girls and my awesome coach and with running.

Nine years ago I ran a mile around the track for probably the first time outside of gym class and it changed my life.

26562_1387626406267_982272_n

My first timed mile 9:09 and I didn’t walk. Since then I’ve gotten my mile time down to 7 flat, ran hundreds? (if not then pretty dang close) of 5ks, a handful of 10ks and completed two half marathons.

Running is a part of me now. It’s part of who I am. I am glad I made the decision almost a decade ago to become a runner. I hope it’s something I can continue to do for the rest of my life.

Next up — is hitting a decade of running!

img_0327

Leave a Reply

