You’re still a runner even if you have to walk

Here is something it took me a while to figure out a runner.

IT IS OKAY TO WALK.

I’ve been a runner for almost a decade now. While I like to think I know a little bit about being a runner and how to train for a specific distance or prep for a race, I still have so much to learn.

My most recent takeaway from this sport? Is that it is okay to walk.

In the past (and even sometimes now, don’t get me wrong) I always felt like I wasn’t a true runner if I had to walk. Walking was a sign of weakness. A sign of defeat.

But now, I see walking as being smart. Pushing myself to the point of injury is not smart. Taking the time to slow down and evaluate myself and my fitness is the best thing I can do as a runner. Hell, if I am tired and need a lap/minute/block to recover and catch my breath in order to continue on, then I walk.

WALKING DOESN’T MAKE YOU LESS OF A RUNNER.
*louder for those in the back, please*

img_0104

The more I run, the more I love my body. Not because it’s perfect, not because I’m fast, but because every damn mile that it took to get here (whether I was running or walking) proves to me that I am strong and capable of more than I ever thought was possible.

Running isn’t about being the best. It’s about being better than you used to be. Remember, there is magic in misery (thank you, Dean Karnazes).

img_0807

Leave a Reply

