Trust the process

Last week running 3 miles was hard. While I was keeping about a 10 minute/mile pace, it was HARD. Like struggle bus city.

This week? Three miles has felt easy. I’ve either brought my pace down, or stayed around a 10 minute pace, but felt so much stronger.

Not running for months killed my endurance and my mental game. While I am so thankful to have a treadmill at home now where I can run every day, coming back has been no walk in the park.

I’m still working on my endurance and I’ve only had one four mile run this year. My mental game is so weak and since I’m at home and on a treadmill (where I can just stop and go in the house) I feel like I should be doing 10 other things rather than running.

I saw something on Facebook yesterday that really resonated with how I’ve been feeling personally, at work and with running — “you can either run the day or the let day run you.”

THAT IS SO TRUE. For me, it’s all about my mindset. If I come into work with a positive attitude, get to work and start knocking out my to-do list, then I feel so much better.

Once I get into the miles, I feel better (on like 10 different levels).

So while day-by-day it may not look like I am making much progress, in a month or six months or a year, I can look back and see how much it’s all changes. My miles will be faster, I will be stronger and I will be happy with the journey.

Trust the process. Put it in the work. Results will come.

2 thoughts on “Trust the process

  1. Pingback: Friday Favorites v. 36 | MILES WITH MEGHANN

  2. Pingback: Weekend shenanigans  | MILES WITH MEGHANN

Leave a Reply

