Monomeal for breakfast

So the other day on Instagram I saw a post from one of the healthy living bloggers I follow about the concept of eating a monomeal. It’s intrigued me, so I decided to do some research.

A monomeal is a meal comprised of one food, usually raw fruits or vegetables. Simple as that! For example, a bowl of fresh pineapple chunks or six oranges or a smoothie of just bananas and water or half a watermelon or a medley of bell pepper slices.

Basically, we have complicated our lives and our food. More is not better.

Think about a smoothie. Smoothies with 10 ingredients are usually unnecessary – try a smoothie with only 3-4 ingredients. Your gut will thank you.

Benefits to eating monomeals.

I’ve been trying a monomeal for breakfast a few days a week for about two weeks. Last week, I had a bowl of pineapple one day and then three apples on another day.

FruitsVegetables_Pineapple.jpg

Digest fully everything you eat. If there is gas or bloating, then you are not digesting your food properly. Simplify and see what foods work well for you.

While I don’t think this is some life-changing idea. I do like the simplicity behind it. I feel like it’s helping my gut and it’s easy to fix in the morning. Basically a win-win.

What do you think about eating monomeals?

Leave a Reply

