Yoga for runners

If you’re anything like me then you probably don’t spend enough time with your yoga mat.

Usually I had rather be on the treadmill with my music than on a mat alone with my thoughts. While I always feel better (and more loose!) after a good yoga sesh, I don’t do it often enough. So in hoping that I will take my own advice, today I am sharing some of the best poses for runners.

Yoga for runners

Let’s start simple.

• Downward Dog
Benefits: Stretches hamstrings, calves, and foot arches; strengthens shoulders.

• Low Lunge (One of my favorite poses)
Benefits: Stretches hip flexors; strengthens hamstrings and quads.

• Reclining Pigeon
Benefits: Releases tension and tightness in the hips.
pigeon_598.jpg
• Spinal Twist
Benefits: Relaxes the lower back and stretches the glutes.

• Legs Up The Wall (another favorite! especially after a long run)
Benefits: Relieves tension in legs, feet, and back; stretches hamstrings and glutes.

Hopefully these poses will help you limber and injury-free while running.

Have another pose you love? Let me know in the comments below!

One thought on “Yoga for runners

  1. Pingback: Some of my go-to workouts | MILES WITH MEGHANN

Leave a Reply

