Tips for healthy grocery shopping

Guys. I love a good planner. My day feels so much more structured when I put pen to paper and map out my day.

The same goes for grocery shopping. Because let’s be honest. If I don’t go to the store armed with my shopping list, this happens: 

So. To keep this from happening, as the week progresses I keep a running grocery list. Things that pop up while I’m cooking, toiletries I run out of and the staples we buy every week.

I also break the list up into what I buy at Aldi and what I buy at Kroger. If I have time, I try to buy produce from our local farmers market, but let’s be real, I don’t always have time for that at 7 a.m. on Saturday mornings.

No matter where I shop though, I always try to look at the ingredient list on the products I buy. The more real food, the better! Shopping the perimeter of the store really helps me make smart choices when shopping.

Now let’s take a look at some of what I buy weekly/monthly.

Aldi = chips, breakfast bars, lunch meat, cooking + baking essentials like sugar, flour, oils, etc, produce, milk, eggs, spaghetti, yogurt, protein powder and sometimes random pickups since their inventory changes from month to month.


Kroger = Suja, golden delicious apples, meat, pizza and toiletries. We have a few items that we prefer the name brand vs. Aldi brand.

I feel like I might be in the minority here, but Ryan and I eat the same five meals every week. Every Monday is taco night, every Tuesday is porkchops + veggies and so on. While sometimes it gets a little routine, it saves us so much money and hassle when trying to decide on what we are having for supper that night — we already know! We never go out to eat through the week and we save money and calories because of it!

This system works for us. But it not work for you and your family. Find what works for you and stick with it. Trust me, it took months and months of shopping at different grocers, meal planning and budgeting to get where we wanted to be.

Food should be fun! Even though we eat a lot of the same meals, we still enjoy them. Sitting with each other and eating a meal together is always one of my most treasured parts of the day. I hope it is for you too.

Leave a Reply

