Come hell or high water: treadmill running

You know what is longer than microwave minutes? Treadmill minutes.

I hate running on a treadmill. When I was first starting my running journey, I was a sophomore in high school and was on my school’s track team and we ran outside EVERY. DAMN. DAY.

My coach was a former Ironman and standout runner who worked in a factory and now coached high school girls. And like I said, we ran outside. Every. Damn. Day. No matter the weather. Come hell or high water, you would find 10 high school girls bunched up and shuffling down the sidewalk on a daily four mile run.

His two favorite sayings were, “I’ve learned to enjoy ALL types of weather” and “if it doesn’t kill you, it’ll make you stronger and if you die, then it must have been your time to go.”

Now, nine years after I began running under his direction, I still think of those sayings often. So after running outside every day for three years, now when I’m forced to run on the treadmill due to working late or terrible weather, I dread it. While I am thankful to have a treadmill at home, I still much rather run outside. But life doesn’t always let us do what we want, so every day Monday – Friday after work I am on that treadmill.

Sometimes I take the easy way out and skip my run all together. But then I feel sh*t, so I usually, I suck it up, stand on the treadmill cursing my decision and begin my run.

*Fake it til you make it, right?!
img_0427

While I don’t always love having to run on the treadmill, I know it makes me a better runner. Treadmill miles are better than no miles, right?! Plus I’m slowly but surely building up my mental game.

With that said, I am still so grateful that I am able to run.

I don’t have to run, I get to run.

There are so many people in the world who would love a chance to walk, much less run, and here I am complaining about something I choose to do. But I love to run. I also love to eat chocolate chip cookies. Another incentive to run? You better believe it.

3 thoughts on “Come hell or high water: treadmill running

  1. Soooooo with you on this! But it is a necessary evil sometimes here especially in Canada…during the winter…One word to the wise though . I was training this summer and doing lots of mileage (outside). I ran one day on the treadmill and ended up with the a LCL strain. My physio said we tend to run a little differently on a treadmill. Our gait is altered so just be wary of this. Happy running!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

