Healthy eating should not be a diet plan

Welcome to back the work week, friends! I hope you all had a great Father’s Day weekend. I got to spend time with both my dad and my father-in-law, so I am one happy girl today!

Now. Onto more serious matters.

I hate when I’m out to eat with people and they think because I’m getting “just a salad” that it means I am dieting. No! I don’t want the foods I eat to be considered a diet! I want to become a way of life. I want to eat healthy and nourishing foods that sustain my daily activities!

Eat good to feel good, right? I want to feel good. I want to feel great. Lots of processed foods and fake sugars are not going to get me there.

Cucumbers and tuna fish (my latest lunch obsession) is healthy, but you know what, it also tastes good! And I don’t feel bloated and nasty after eating it like I would if I ate a burger and fries from McDonald’s. Eating healthy should not be a diet plan.


I want to learn to live a balanced life. To me, eating well is a way I can respect my body AND help it live out its full potential. I like to run. Therefore, I need foods that can fuel my body so I can be my best self and perform well. Don’t get me wrong, I love chocolate chip cookies and pizza is one of my top three favorite foods, but I think a life filled with moderation is a good thing.


Below, I’ve linked some of my favorite recipes that are delicious and good for you!

BREAKFAST
Hard boiled egg and cheddar muffin.
Cherry Banana Smoothie.
My new favorite smoothie.
Avocado toast FIVE ways.

LUNCH
Sweet & spicy summertime guac.
White bean and mozzarella sandwich.

SUPPER
Easy baked ginger chicken.
Skinny beef and broccoli noodles.
BBQ salmon. (While I don’t get to cook fish at home due my husband’s, but I love to eat it! I haven’t tried this recipe, but it looks delish!)

EXTRAS
Chocolate chip banana bread cookies.
Summer fruit salad.

One thought on “Healthy eating should not be a diet plan

Leave a comment